Meng Wang, Ph.D. Candidate in Assoc. Prof. Shaily Mahendra’s group, was recently awarded the 2016 Second Place MWH/AEESP Master’s Thesis Awards for his work on “Peroxidase Enzymes Packaged in Vaults as an Innovative Bioremediation Technology”. The AEESP Master’s Thesis Award annually recognizes the first and second most outstanding M.S. theses that contribute to the advancement of environmental science and engineering. Meng and Dr. Mahendra will receive the award at the Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors (AEESP) award ceremony in New Orleans on September 26th.
AEESP is a private nonprofit organization, and is made up of professors in academic programs throughout the world who provide education in the sciences and technologies of environmental protection, including water and wastewater treatment, air pollution control, water and air resource management, environmental chemistry, and environmental toxicology.
Pictured (from left): Peter Vikesland (Professor at Virginia Tech & President of AEESP), Meng Wang (Ph.D. Candidate), and Shaily Mahendra (Associate Professor at UCLA).